This article described the process for editing existing lots individually or in bulk. For information on editing the Category or Item Details (metadata) associated with a lot, see Categorization & Metadata. For renumbering lots, see Renumber Lots. For re-sequencing lots, see Reorder Lots.
This article contains the following sections:
When Can Lots Be Edited?
Additionally, certain edits will be restricted on lots with pre-bids. If a lot already has pre-bids, a message will appear at the top of the lot on Catalog Generator page.
Editing Individual Lots
- Navigate to the applicable auction on the AuctionBuilder Dashboard and click the Catalog link.
- Click on a lot number in the Lot Selector panel on the right side of the page. The current lot information will load.
- Make any necessary edits to any of the fields below. Some fields will not be available for editing if the lot already has pre-bids. Contact a Proxibid Account Manager to have pre-bids removed, if needed.
- To edit the lot's Category or Item Details (metadata) click the Edit Item Details button. For more information, see Categorization & Metadata.
- Click the Update button. A confirmation message will appear at the top of the page.
Editing Lots in Bulk
Catalog edits can be made in bulk by uploading a new Comma-Separated Value (.CSV) file containing the new or corrected information.
To keep a catalog consistent when making edits, it is recommended that the catalog be exported each time bulk edits are needed. Edits should then be made to the exported spreadsheet rather than altering an original version of the catalog spreadsheet that may not be current. Once edits have been made, the catalog can then be re-uploaded and mapped via the Bulk Loader.
Changes made to a catalog spreadsheet will override the information currently in Auction Builder, as long as the impacted column is mapped. Columns that are not mapped during upload will not be read and the information within those fields will not be replaced.
For example, if a disclaimer need to be added to several lots, export the catalog, add the disclaimer to the 'Lot Description' column for the impacted lots, and then re-upload the catalog, being sure to map the 'Lot Description' column. The descriptions will be updated. Had the spreadsheet been re-uploaded without mapping the 'Lot Description' column, the descriptions would not have been updated.
If information that was previously on the catalog spreadsheet is removed and the impacted columns are mapped during re-upload, the data that was in those fields will be removed.
For example, if Starting Bids (Ask Price) were originally entered and they now need to be removed, export the catalog, delete the values in the Starting Bids column, and then re-upload the catalog, being sure to map the Starting Bids column. The Starting Bids will be removed. Had the spreadsheet been re-uploaded without mapping the Starting Bids column, the Starting Bids would not have been removed from the lots.
An exception is lot deletions. Lots cannot be deleted in bulk via import. See below for information on deleting lots.
A different process will need to be followed to make bulk change to Lot Numbers. For more information, see Renumber Lots.
For information on making bulk changes to the sequence of the lots, see Reorder Lots.
For information on editing the Category or Item Details (metadata) associated with a lot, see Categorization & Metadata
To delete a lot, click on the lot number in the Lot Selector panel located on the left side of the Catalog Generator page and then click the Delete Lot button. A confirmation message will appear at the top of the page. Deleted lots cannot be retrieved.
Most auction houses are not able to delete lots with pre-bids. Always confirm that a lot does not have pre-bids before attempting to delete. If an auction house cannot delete the lot, contact a Proxibid Account Manager to first have the pre-bids retracted.
Additionally, lots cannot be deleted from events that are in a Live, Closed, Ready to Invoice, Invoiced, or Archived event status. If a lot needs to be deleted from an event in one of these statuses, please contact a Proxibid Account Manager.